First Forum Past Awardees, 2010-2017


(Recent award winners are listed first)

2017 Awardees

Team Builders
NM Representative James E. Smith (R)
New Mexico Legislature

NM Senator Daniel Ivey-Soto (D)
New Mexico Legislature

Excellence in Education
NM Representative Stephanie Garcia Richard (D)
New Mexico Legislature

Up and Comer
NM Representative Jim Dines (R)
New Mexico Legislature

Lifetime Achievement Award
Sherman McCorkle, retired executive and longstanding civic leader

2015 Awardees

Statewide Leadership

David Abbey (I)
Legislative Finance Committee Director

John D’Antonio (I)
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Deputy District Engineer and former NM State Engineer

NM Senator Sander Rue (R)
New Mexico State Senator

Up And Comer

NM Representative Sharon Clahchischilliage (R)
New Mexico State Representative

Lifetime Achievement Award

Clara Apodaca (D)
Former first lady of New Mexico and active civic leader

2013 Awardees

Excellence in Legislative Policy

NM Representative Larry Larranaga (R)
NM Senator Mary Kay Papen (D)

Excellence in Education Policy

Kathie Winograd (D)
President, Central New Mexico Community College

Good Government Award

Fred Nathan (I)
Executive Director, Think New Mexico

Lifetime Achievement Award

Garrey Carruthers (R)
Dean, College of Business at New Mexico State University

2011 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Manuel Lujan, retired U.S. Secretary of the Interior, U.S. Representative (R)
The late Bruce and Alice King, Governor and First Lady (Award accepted by Bill King) (D)

Rising Stars

NM Senator Tim Keller (D)
NM Senator George Munoz (D)
NM Representative Cathrynn Brown (R)
NM Representative Conrad James (R)

Voices of Experience

The late Jeanette Wallace, NM Representative (R)
NM Representative Joseph Cervantes (D)

Fiscal Leadership

NM Senator Stuart Ingle (R)
NM Senator John Arthur Smith (D)

2010 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Awards

U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman (D)
Retired U.S. Senator Pete Domenici (R)

Odd Couple Award

Business leader Edward Lujan (R)
Ambassador Edward Romero (D)

Economic Development

NM Representative John Heaton (D)
NM Representative Tom Taylor (R)


NM Senator Gay Kernan (R)
NM Senator Cynthia Nava (D)


NM Senator Sue Wilson Beffort (R)
NM Senator Michael Sanchez (D)


The late Patty Jennings (Award accepted by Tim Jennings)


Won’t you please support New Mexico First?

Some of Our Sponsors