2013 Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards


The Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards honors lawmakers and other leaders who have been role models for cross-party collaboration in policy. All of the 2013 awardeeshave proven, in tangible ways, their ability to put good policy above partisan politics.

“New Mexico is a state that has a long history of different people from very different backgrounds finding a way to work together to move the state forward,” said Gene Baca, selection committee chair. “This organization will recognize lawmakers and community leaders, who in this age of divisiveness, put the people of New Mexico first and work to find good solutions to the challenges we face.”

Awardees will be presented at the 2013 First Forum, a tribute to retired U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman. This tribute will primarily focus on issues Senator Bingaman prioritized while in office: energy, education, and economic development.

2013 Selection Committee

Gene Baca, Bueno Foods, Selection Committee Chair
Heather Balas, New Mexico First
Dino Cervantes, Cervantes Enterprises
Dolores Connor, Las Cruces
Janet Green, New Mexico State University
Edward Lujan, Manuel Lujan Agencies
Cynthia Nava, former Senator in New Mexico Legislature
Brian Rashap, Intel
Tony Trujillo, Freeport McMoRan Copper & Gold

2010 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Awards

U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman
Retired U.S. Senator Pete Dominici

Odd Couple Award

Business leader Edward Lujan
Ambassador Edward Romero

Economic Development

NM Representative John Heaton (D)
NM Representative Tom Taylor (R)


NM Senator Gay Kernan (R)
NM Senator Cynthia Nava (D)


NM Senator Sue Wilson Beffort (R)
NM Senator Michael Sanchez (D)


The late Patty Jennings (Award accepted by Tim Jennings)

2011 Awardees

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Manuel Lujan, retired U.S. Secretary of the Interior, U.S. Representative
The late Bruce and Alice King, Governor and First Lady (Award accepted by Bill King)

Rising Stars

NM Senator Tim Keller (D)
NM Senator George Munoz (D)
NM Representative Cathrynn Brown (R)
NM Representative Conrad James (R)

Voices Of Experience

The late Jeanette Wallace, NM Representative (R)
NM Representative Joseph Cervantes  (D)

Fiscal Leadership

NM Senator Stuart Ingle (R)
NM Senator John Arthur Smith (D)

2013 Awardees

Excellence in Legislative Policy

New Mexico Representative Larry Larranaga (R)
New Mexico Senator Mary Kay Papen (D)
New Mexico Senator Phil Griego (D)

Excellence in Education Policy

Kathie Winograd, President, Central New Mexico Community College

Good Government Award

Fred Nathan, Executive Director, Think New Mexico

Lifetime Achievement Award

Garrey Carruthers, Dean, College of Business at New Mexico State University

The awardees were chosen by a committee made up of Gene Baca, Heather Balas, Dino Cervantes, Dolores Connor, Janet Green, Edward Lujan, Cynthia Nava, Brian Rashap and Tony Trujillo.

First Forum: A Policy Tribute to U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman

The Spirit of Bipartisanship Awards will be given out at the 2013 First Forum, which this year honors retired U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman. Get your tickets today at 2013 First Forum.


Won’t you please support New Mexico First?

Some of Our Sponsors