New Mexico Redistricting Taskforce


The goal of the task force is to develop recommendations to present to the N.M. Legislature on redistricting rules and processes. New Mexico First is committed to cross-partisan dialogue, consensus-building, and aligned action on policy issues that impact the state. Therefore, the Redistricting Task Force includes voters, researchers, lawmakers, tribal members, and advocates who are knowledgeable about redistricting or voter rights. The task force includes people from different political parties and is racially, ethnically, and geographically diverse, including members from the sovereign Pueblos and Tribes across New Mexico.

The meetings are open to the public for observation. Click on the meetings tab for more information.  

Taskforce Members

Edward Chavez, NM Supreme Court (retired)
Roderick Kennedy, New Mexico Court of Appeals (retired)
Merritt Allen, Vox Optima, LLC (Tijeras)
David Buchholtz, Rodey Law Firm (Albuquerque)
Ahtza Chavez, NAVA Education Project (Albuquerque)
N.M State Representative Rebecca Dow, (T or C)
N.M. State Representative Kelly Fajardo (Los Lunas)
Jeremy Farris, NM Ethics Commission (Albuquerque)
N.M. State Representative Natalie Figueroa (Albuquerque)
Tom Garrity, The Garrity Group PR Firm, (Albuquerque)
Leonard Gorman, Navajo Nation Human Rights Commission (Navajo Nation)
C. Earl Greer, NM Farm and Livestock Bureau (Elephant Butte)
Anita Hand, Catron County Commission (Datil)
Mario Jimenez III, Common Cause NM (Las Cruces)
Carmen Lopez, State Innovation Exchange (SiX) (Santa Fe)
Katon Luaces, Qworks (Albuquerque)
Dick Mason, Leauge of Women Voters (Santa Fe)
N.M.State Senator Mark Moores (Albuquerque)
N.M State Senator Bill O'Neill (Albuquerque)
N.M. State Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino (Albuquerque)
Cedric Page, Santa Fe Branch NAACP (Santa Fe)
N.M. State Senator Shannon Pinto (Tohatchi)
Maurreen Skowran, Geospatial and Population Studies University of New Mexico (Albuquerque)
Sandra Taylor-Sawyer, Dream Givers LLC (Clovis)
N.M. State Representative Jim Townsend (Artesia)


Email Us



The meetings are open to the public for observation

The taskforce will take questions from observers at the end of each meeting.
720-928-9299, Webinar ID: 825 4638 0983 

The meetings are also recorded for the public 

Meeting Video 1: Orientation, October 5

Meeting Video 2: Redistricting Guidelines, October 19

Meeting Video 3: Mapping, October 26

Taskforce Member Meeting Information

All meetings take place on a Monday and start at 2:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. in 2020. The dates and meeting topics are listed below and in the schedule and agenda outline document.  Taskforce members were sent a calendar alert with the Zoom URL. 

Meeting Topics   Date   Time 
Orientation  Monday, October 5 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Redistricting Guidelines  Monday, October 19 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Public Mapping  Monday, October 26 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Public Engagement/Transparency  Monday, November 9 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Legislative Options  Monday, November 16  2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Discuss Ideas/Priority Recommendations  Monday, November 30 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m. 
Decide on Consensus Recommendations and Dissenting Ideas Monday, December 7 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.


In 2021, following the completion of the 2020 Census, lawmakers will redraw district maps for U.S. Congress, The legislature, N.M. Public Regulation Commission, and N.M. Public Education Commission. The current maps, drawn in 2011, appear under the maps tab.

N.M. Congressional Districts Map

N.M. State Senate Districts Map


N.M. House of Representative Districts Map

N.M. Public Regulation Districts Map


N.M. Public Education Commission Districts Map

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts 5, 10, 4, 6, 8

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 10, 8, 9 

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 8, 9

N.M. Public Education Commission,  Districts, 6, 8, 7

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 4, 3, 2, 1, 6, 8 


N.M. Redistricting: Increasing Voters’ Ability to Choose their Political Leaders, a report authored by New Mexico First

New Mexico Legislature Redistricting page

Approved Redistricting Guidelines Adopted By The New Mexico Legislative Council, 2011

Summary: Redistricting in New Mexico after the 2020 census

Obstacles at Every Turn, Barriers to Political Participation Faced By Native American Voters (pages 19 and 155-125)

Redistricting: A History of Redistricting in New Mexico-Executive Summary By Gwyneth Doland

Redistricting Law 2020-National Conference of State Legislatures

Redistricting Models-A Comparative Analysis Prepared for the New Mexico Legislature

All About Redistricting, Professor Justin Levitt's guide to drawing the electoral lines

Redistricting Members Only Secure Website

Some of Our Sponsors