Redistricting Taskforce in New Mexico

Redistricting Taskforce in New Mexico

New Mexico Redistricting Taskforce

Dates: Fall and Winter 2020

Times: Click on the meetings tab to learn more about the taskforce meetings.


The goal of the task force is to develop recommendations to present to the N.M. Legislature on redistricting rules and processes. New Mexico First is committed to cross-partisan dialogue, consensus-building, and aligned action on policy issues that impact the state. Therefore, the Redistricting Task Force includes voters, researchers, lawmakers, tribal members, and advocates who are knowledgeable about redistricting or voter rights. The task force includes people from different political parties and is racially, ethnically, and geographically diverse, including members from the sovereign Pueblos and Tribes across New Mexico.

The meetings are open to the public for observation. Click on the meetings tab for more information.

Taskforce Members

Edward Chávez, NM Supreme Court (retired)
Roderick Kennedy, New Mexico Court of Appeals (retired)
Merritt Allen, Vox Optima, LLC (Tijeras)
David Buchholtz, Rodey Law Firm (Albuquerque)
Ahtza Chavez, NAVA Education Project (Albuquerque)
N.M State Representative Rebecca Dow, (T or C)
N.M. State Representative Kelly Fajardo (Los Lunas)
Jeremy Farris, NM Ethics Commission (Albuquerque)
N.M. State Representative Natalie Figueroa (Albuquerque)
Tom Garrity, The Garrity Group PR Firm, (Albuquerque)
Leonard Gorman, Navajo Nation Human Rights Commission (Navajo Nation)
Earl Greer, Bernalillo County Farm and Livestock Bureau (Elephant Butte)
Anita Hand, Catron County Commission (Datil)
Mario Jimenez III, Common Cause NM (Las Cruces)
Carmen Lopez, State Innovation Exchange (SiX) (Santa Fe)
Katon Luaces, Qworks (Albuquerque)
Dick Mason, Leauge of Women Voters (Santa Fe)
N.M.State Senator Mark Moores (Albuquerque)
N.M State Senator Bill O'Neill (Albuquerque)
N.M. State Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino (Albuquerque)
Cedric Page, Santa Fe Branch NAACP (Santa Fe)
N.M. State Senator Shannon Pinto (Tohatchi)
Maurreen Skowran, Geospatial and Population Studies University of New Mexico (Albuquerque)
Sandra Taylor-Sawyer, Dream Givers LLC (Clovis)
N.M. State Representative Jim Townsend (Artesia)


Email Us


The meetings are open to the public for observation. The taskforce will take questions from observers at the end of each meeting.
720-928-9299, Webinar ID: 825 4638 0983

The meetings are also recorded for the public.

Meeting Video 1: Orientation, October 5

Meeting Video 2: Redistricting Guidelines, October 19

Meeting Video 3: Mapping, October 26

Meeting Video 4: Public Engagement, November 9

Meeting Video 5: Voter Rights Act and Recommendations, November 16

Taskforce Member Meeting Information

All meetings take place on a Monday and start at 2:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. in 2020. Taskforce members were sent a calendar alert with the Zoom URL.

Meeting Topics Date Time
Orientation October 5 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
Redistricting Guidelines October 19 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
Public Mapping October 26 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
Public Engagement/Transparency November 9 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
Voting Rights Act of 1965 November 16 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
Tribal and Pueblo Roundtable November 30 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
TBD December 7 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.
TBD December 14 2:30 p.m.-5 p.m.



In 2021, following the completion of the 2020 Census, lawmakers will redraw district maps for U.S. Congress, The legislature, N.M. Public Regulation Commission, and N.M. Public Education Commission. The current maps, drawn in 2011, appear under the maps tab.

N.M. Congressional Districts Map

N.M. State Senate Districts Map


N.M. House of Representative Districts Map

N.M. Public Regulation Districts Map


N.M. Public Education Commission Districts Map

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts 5, 10, 4, 6, 8

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 10, 8, 9 

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 8, 9

N.M. Public Education Commission,  Districts, 6, 8, 7

N.M. Public Education Commission, Districts, 4, 3, 2, 1, 6, 8 

Some of Our Sponsors