Our goal: To collaborate on the creation of agreed-upon and actionable recommendations
to transform behavioral health in New Mexico.

Town Hall Program

Background Report


DAY ONE (Wednesday, June 15)

8:30 am Check in/ Breakfast

9:00 am Opening

  • Welcome Message: Marcus Mims,
    Chair, New Mexico First Board
  • Invocation: Vernon B. Abeita,
    Governor, Pueblo of Isleta
  • Emcee Alicia Manzano
  • Messages from the Honorable Martin Heinrich & Ben Ray Lujan, United States Senators

Your Virtual Emcee: Carlos Contreras

Panel Discussion Moderator: Annabella Farmer, Searchlight New Mexico

  • Dr. Mauricio Tohen, Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Department.
  • Nikka Peralta, Founder, Mending Hearts LLC
  • Mariela Ruiz-Angel, City of Albuquerque Director of Albuquerque Community Safety
  • Marshall Martinez, Executive Director, Equality New Mexico

10:45 am Town Hall Overview: Alicia Manzano

11:00 am Break and transition to breakout rooms

11:15 am Working Group Introductions and Overview

12:00 pm Lunch (TED Talk-like conversations)

  • 12:20 pm: Greggory D. Hull, Mayor of Rio Rancho
  • 12:30 pm: Stacy Burleson, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Women in Leadership, WIL
  • 12:40 pm: Sierra Garcia-Charlie, Jonathan Alonzo and Quincy Walker, Students from Native American Community Academy
  • 12:50 pm : Jodie Jepson, ABQ Street Connect/Heading Home Executive Director

1:10 pm Working Group Recommendation Session

4:00 pm Plenary Session: Working Group Recommendations Report-outs

4:50 pm Overview of Day 2: Alicia Manzano

5:00 pm Adjourn 

DAY TWO (Thursday, June 16)

8:00 am Breakfast

  • Welcome Message
  • Town Hall Amendment Rules:
    Alicia Manzano
  • Opening grounding & centering exercise:
    Michele Coleman, Ph.D., LMFT, Founder and CEO of Attachment Healing Center

8:45 am Transition to breakout rooms

9:00 am Working Group Session

10:15 am Break

10:30 am Working Group Amendment Session

11:55 am Transition to plenary room

12:05 pm Lunch and plenary session

  • Implementation Process: Mika Tari, New Mexico First Town Hall Implementation Chair 
  • Review Recommendations and Poll for Consensus

1:45 pm Closing remarks: Michael Barndollar, New Mexico First Board Member

2:00 pm Adjourn 

Thank you to our Generous Sponsors!

Behavioral Health Town Hall slide presentations

Speakers & presenters


Michael Barndollar
Robert Fullbright – Photographer
Kim Legart
New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions
New Mexico Mutual
Presbyterian Healthcare Services
Third Soul Events

New Mexico First Staff
Danielle Gonzales – Executive Director
Sharon Berman – Civic Engagement & Policy Manager     
Theresa Cardenas – Civic Engagement & Policy Manager
Michelle E. Mirabal – Project Manager
Kenn Rodriguez – Admin & Communication Coordinator 

New Mexico First Board of Directors
Marcus Mims – Board Chair
Michael Barndollar
Rob Black
Henry Brutus
Diane Denish
Matt Hunton
Franz Joachim
Kathy Keith
Don Lopez
Leo Lovett
Melissa Ontiveros
Nichole Rogers
Martha Romero
Cheryl Silcox
Kim Wong

New Mexico First Town Hall Planning Committee
Michael Barndollar – Co Chair
Henry Brutus – Co Chair
Mika Tari
Veronica Alonzo
Dr. Dale Alverson
Gerilyn Antonio
Maralyn Beck
Steven Brooks
Vicki Chavez
George Davis
Kris Ericson
Carolyn Gamiao
Jerry Harrison
Joshua Jones
Kimmie Jordan
Mayra Lovas
Melisha Montano
Melissa Ontiveros
Bryce Pittenger
Nichole Rogers
Anna Rondon
Bill Wagner
Tony Watkins
Wendy Wintermute
Kim Wong