About Us

Our Mission

To be a catalyst for positive change by engaging citizens in policy and enabling action.

Our Core Values

  • Meaningfully engaging New Mexicans in public policy
  • Striving for and respecting consensus
  • Pursuing and respecting diverse points of views
  • Ensuring inclusion and transparency
  • Rising above partisan politics
  • Changing policy to improve people's lives
  • Creating an informed citizenry that is powerfully motivated
  • Reaching out statewide including rural and tribal communities
  • Partnering with others
  • Promoting civility
  • Democracy at its best

About New Mexico First

New Mexico First builds consensus on critical issues facing our state and communities and leads positive policy change through deliberative town halls, forums, and nonpartisan work on education, the economy, healthcare, natural resources and good governance. New Mexico First is a 501(c)(3).

Our mission statement and core values provide the ethical framework for all our work.

Our state’s two U.S. Senators – Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich – serve as New Mexico First’s honorary co-chairs. The organization was co-founded in 1986 by U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman (retired) and the late U.S. Senator Pete Domenici.

U.S. Senator Tom Udall

U.S. Senator Tom Udall

U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich

U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich

U.S. Senator Pete Domenici

U.S. Senator Pete Domenici(1932-2017)

U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman

U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman(retired)


Some of Our Sponsors